The Caretaker and Thomas the Tank engine

In the London Evening Standard tonight there is an article about ‘Why footballers are like middle managers’ (something about cheating and the France – Ireland World Cup play-off). What can we compare intranet and knowledge managers to? 

Using my analogy of the intranet (or any collaboration environment for that matter) as a school  

http://digitaldivide.posterous.com/the-value-is-in-the-playground

 I guess intranet managers are the caretakers and the knowledge workers are the classroom assistants.  

When my son was at toddler stage I tried to explain to him what I did. The best analogy I could think of was Thomas the Tank engine. I played the part of the Fat Controller – making sure the network runs smoothly and all the engines have coal before Diesel (or Diseasel) played some naughty tricks (this being  the content publisher who deletes half their site before calling you)

 

Leave a Reply

