Gold rush on Twitter?

Some years back domain management occupied much of my time, protecting one of our most important IP assets, our domain. I used to receive many flyers, emails and even cold calls on how/why I needed to register something urgently, or Russian spy’s were looking to buy-up a potential unprotected domain (I hope this doesn’t give the impression I was working during the cold war).

 

Anyway I’ve become weary of all the demands for land grabs and gold rushes for domains. However, something which is catching my eye is the potential that Twitter may start a gold rush for currently locked-up usernames.

 

Although Twitter didn???t specify a date, a spokesperson said they are planning to release usernames that are either inactive or have been deleted by their former “owners.”

Soon we could see a virtual stampede as companies and individuals clamour for coveted Twitter names and themes.

Leave a Reply

